Life as a 2nd Grader…Fall Bulletin Board

Before I went back to school in the fall of 2011 I was selling auto and home insurance and working in a parking ramp.  I graduated from Iowa in December 2009 with an art and business degree, and once I received my degree I wasn’t that sure on what I wanted to do with my life.  I was dreaming about moving to a big city and becoming a painter.  Traveling around and producing my paintings from my new free lifestyle, but then I realized that I don’t have the money to do that.  I wasn’t ready to leave the city that my family and I live in.  And I didn’t really believe that I would be able to pay my bills.  So I thought about my choices.  I talked to my friends and family.  I volunteered.  I wrote in my journals.  I painted.  I did yoga and ran.  I ended my relationship.  I moved back into my parents house.  I was accepted into the Education Program.  I was ready to make this change in order to make my life a lot better.

Today was my first time to teach a full art lesson. Here are the stats for the lesson:

  • There are 23 students in this 2nd grade class
  • There are two students who have ADD/ADHD
  • This lesson was 40 minutes long
  • I have been teaching with these students for a month and a half now
  • We created mosaic leaves for the hallway bulletin board

I started by talking to my Cooperating Teacher about a few ideas I had for the bulletin board out in the hallway.  I always check with my CT before teaching any lesson (including mini or full lessons).  We wanted to have a bright and engaging board that would be welcoming for the students as they are walking into the classroom door.  We also wanted the student to be proud of the piece they completed that is now hanging out in the hallway for the whole school to see.  And we wanted something for the parents, friends, and relatives of the students to see during the upcoming parent teacher conference.  So I created the fall themed lesson plan where each student would make their own individual mosaic leaf by ripping up construction paper and gluing it on to a leaf template.  Each student also has a leaf or a pumpkin where they finished the sentence, “I love fall because…”  These items are placed around a tree that I created with brown wrapping paper.  I personally think the board turned out awesome, and so do the students!

I video taped myself teaching this lesson today… That is a super weird thing to do.  But it will help me learn how to be a better teacher for my future students.  I watched the video for the first time tonight, not taking notes, but just as a video.  Who would have known that I need to speak louder when I am teaching. Me, not loud enough?  Really??  But that is the best part of being in the Education Program is that we are taught how to be teachers by teaching.  

Here is the bulletin board before…boring

 

Up close of some of the mosaic leaves and “I love fall because….” sentences

 

The students’ reasons why they love fall 🙂

Completed! And I love it!

 

Until again,

alc

 

Leave a Reply

